Gujarat Municipal Election Results 2021: BJP gains lead in over 200 seats, Congress yet to reach 50

959758 gujarat municipal elections

Gujarat Civic polls results in 576 seats for the six metropolitan municipalities in Gujarat and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in the trends. On Sunday (February 21), six metropolitan municipalities Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara, Jamnagar and Bhavnagar voted and 48.15 percent voters exercised their franchise.

The counting of votes for the six municipal corporations of Gujarat began at 9 am on Tuesday and is still ongoing. As per the latest trends, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was leading in over 200 seats till 12 noon, while the Congress was leading in 42 seats.

The BJP is leading the wards of Jamjodhpur, Thaltej, Vastrapur, Asarwa, Saizpur, Nava Wadaj and Navarangpura in local body elections. On the other hand, Congress is leading in Dariyapur and Chandkheda wards, while All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is leading in Behrampura ward.

The BJP was ruled by six civic bodies – Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara, Bhavnagar and Jamnagar.

The Gujarat local body elections were voted on Sunday. The State Election Commission (SEC) has said that an average of 46.08 percent polling was held during the polling, which took place between 7 am and 6 pm.

Ahmedabad recorded the lowest turnout of 42.51 percent, while Jamnagar recorded the highest turnout of 53.38 percent, followed by 50.72 percent in Rajkot, 49.46 percent in Bhavnagar, 47.84 percent in Vadodara and 47.14 percent in Surat. “Of the total 1.14 voters registered in these major cities of Gujarat, 52.83 lakh cast their ballots,” the SEC said in a release.

It may be noted that a total of 2,275 candidates are in the in the six metropolitan councils, whose fate will be today. Of these, 577 are from BJP, 566 are main opposition Congress, 91 Nationalist Congress Party, 470 Aam Aadmi Party, 353 from other and 228 are independents. Several municipalities, zilla panchayats and taluka panchayats of the state will vote on February 28 and counting will take place on March 2.