Join Whatsapp Channel

Join Telegram Group

ICC Under-19 World Cup 2024 Points Table – Check Team Rankings!

Written by The Anand Market

Updated on:

Taking place in South Africa January 19 to February 11, 2024, is the ICC Men’s Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2024, an international limited-overs cricket competition. An ICC points table for the 2024 Under-19 World Cup is now available.

ICC Under-19 World Cup 2024 Points Table

The ICC Men’s Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2024 is an international cricket event currently being hosted in South Africa from 19 January to 11 February 2024.

Group A:

Team CarpetwonLostRelatedNRPointsRNR
India U19110002+1.680
Ireland U19211002+1.171
Bangladesh U19211002-0.667
USA U19101000-2.674

Group B:

Team CarpetwonLostRelatedNRPointsRNR
England U19110002+3.279
South Africa U19110002+0.620
West Indieses U19101000-0.620
Scotland U19101000-3.279

Group C:

Team CarpetwonLostRelatedNRPointsRNR
Australia U19110002+2.970
Sri Lanka U19110002+2,300
Zimbabwe U19101000-2,300
Namibia U19101000-2.970

Group D:

Team CarpetwonLostRelatedNRPointsRNR
Pakistan U19110002+3.620
New Zealand U19110002+1.280
Nepal U19101000-1.280
Afghanistan U19101000-3.620

This is the fifteenth time that the Under-19 Cricket World Cup has been held around the world. India are the defending champions of the tournament.

Initially, Sri Lanka was the host country; but, later, South Africa was chosen as the host country since the International Cricket Council (ICC) had suspended the Sri Lanka Cricket Board.

  • ICC Men’s Under-19 Cricket World Cup
  • Ind vs Eng Test Schedule 2024
  • ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule

Understanding the points system

Before we start dissecting the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2024 points table, let’s get familiar with the points system that governs the tournament.

Also Read:   Florida Tax Free 2024: Save on Clothing, Supplies and Essentials!

The system is designed to reward teams for their achievements during matches and determine their ranking in the competition. The general format includes:

  • Victory: Teams earn a maximum number of points for a victory in a match, usually two points.
  • Tied or No Result: In a tied or no result match due to external factors, teams often split the points, each receiving one point.
  • Bonus Points: Some tournaments introduce bonus points to encourage certain behaviors, such as fast racing pace or successful chases.

icc under-19 world cup points table

Dynamics of the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2024 points table

As the group stage progresses and teams battle for supremacy, the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2024 points table becomes a dynamic reflection of the ongoing cricketing drama. Let’s break down the key elements influencing the points table:

Wins and Losses: The most fundamental aspect impacting the points table is the number of wins and losses each team accumulates in the group stage. Wins propel teams to the top, while losses can be a significant setback.

Net Run Rate (NRR): In case two or more teams finish with equal points, Net Run Rate becomes a crucial tiebreaker. The NRR is calculated by subtracting the total runs conceded from the total runs scored and dividing it by the total number of overs faced.

Bonus Points: Some tournaments introduce bonus points, rewarding teams for achieving specific goals. This adds an extra layer of strategy, as teams strive not only to achieve victory, but also to obtain additional points that can prove decisive.

ICC Under-19 World Cup 2024 Points Table Format

There were sixteen teams in total, divided into four groups: A, B, C and D. The top three clubs from each group will advance to the Super Six stage. In the placement phase, the fourth-placed teams from Groups A and D will compete, while the fourth-placed teams from Groups B and C will compete.

Also Read:   Telangana University Results 2024: UG Semester Marksheet (CBCS) I, III, V

The top three teams from Groups A and D will form one group in the super-six stage, while the top three teams from Groups B and C will form another group. The points, wins and NRR accumulated by each team will be transferred to their fellow super-six qualifying teams.

Each team will compete in two super-six matches against the respective group’s opposition ranked differently in the group stage standings (for example, team A1 will only face D2 and D3 in super-six). Likewise, A2 will only play D1 and D3, and so on.

Go to the Bscnursing home page.